November 11, 2022

  • Banned from St. Andrews Food Pantry Accused of Stealing

    Deacon John has banned me from the food pantry at St. Andrew's.

    I usually arrived late to avoid standing in line since I have an arthritic hip that makes standing for long period uncomfortable.

    When I got there no one was there...not even Sonny or Robert or John. The doors were closed. Table of food was left on the out. I thought that everyone was finished for the day and they left the food for anyone to take so I did just that. It was just some plant based Chicken, apples and garlic. I helped myself to the food. I was not the only one. There were three or four other people who showed up and also helped themselves to the food.

    Suddenly deacon John appeared from upstairs. He got pissed off that I took food without my asking him. He was talking shit about me stealing. I explained to him that I thought everyone was finished and it was for us to take. But he didn't want to hear my explanation. I even offered to give everything back. He just said 'get out of here!' John whom is black gave me that ghetto shit. I guess that's life in the hood...people always stealing from you. That's life in the hood.

    The following Wednesday I showed up to get my regular food pantry pick up. John started talking shit and forbid me to get any food. He said I was banned from the food pantry.

    St. Andrew's food pantry is run by one guy. John is seems to be always in a foul mood. He seems to be always power tripping with the food distribution. St. Andrew's is not the only food pantry in the area and there are many food pantries in the city. I'll just have to go to another food pantry. Hopefully on that has convenient parking and handicap friendly.

    I've been going to the food pantry since the pandemic. Being on a limited income and going through these rough times. it's been helpful to get food from the pantry.