July 2, 2017

  • CAA Poster Boards I Did Back In 1982

    Thirty-five years ago in 1982, the late Loni Ding commissioned me to do a bunch of poster boards for a Chinese For Affirmative Action annual banquet.

    Like most Loni Ding things, it was last minute and the pay was low. But I agreed to do it and I hauled ass literally up to the wire. I even had my nephew help me color the huge 30"x 40" posters. I used a show card paint.

    The way they were presented was each poster was held by a person on a walkway at the Empress of China restaurant.

    CAA Takes Off

    CAA Takes Off

    In the Boardroom

    In the Boardroom

    Lau vs Nichols

    Lau vs Nichols

    Teachers Layoffs

    Teachers Layoffs

    Naturalization

    Naturalization

    CAA Hits The Air

    CAA Hits The Air

    Access to Services

    Access to Services

    Employment Discrimination

    Employment Discrimination

    Media Advocacy

    Media Advocacy

    1980 Census

    1980 Census

    Anyway...Henry Der, the director of CAA at the time, talked of having the posters mounted and displayed at their office. I took some time afterwards to retouch a lot of the artwork for that. Well... it turned out they never mounted them and it sat in storage for all those years.

    Thirty five years later I got an email from someone at CAA telling me they were clearing out their storage space and was going to dump out my posters. So I might as well take them back. I don't know what I'm gonna do with them. The garage is just full of stuff. Some have been water damaged. Sell them? Who wants to buy them?

    How's $200 each?

Comments (3)

  • Leland - I extend deep apologies for screwing up and not doing right by your great art work in these posters. As you know, there's an advocacy story behind each of these posters. Might you be available to speak in real time to explore how this situation may be remedied?

    • Don't worry Henry. I am not upset that the posters weren't mounted and hung up at CAA's office. I understand that when they were created it was for the CAA annual gala.

  • Leland,

    Great that you posted the artwork!
    I am the CAA 50th Anniversary Chair
    for the Exhibit Committee and would
    like to include these posters in the
    2018 celebration. I will call you about
    this and your thoughts about best way to
    display them.

    Thanks
    Russ Lowe 317-5022

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment