January 8, 2023

  • 2022 was a sucky year

    Goodbye Tiger

    2022 sucked because this was the year my osteoarthritis on my left hip gotten really bad. To a point where I am in pain and I am having a hard time walking around.

    What's going on? I say about twenty years ago I began getting stiffness in my left knee. It didn't bother me too much but I also began having a hard time doing my Gung Fu forms.

    A few years later my doctor had me do an x-ray on my knees and said I had arthritis. As the years went on the pain, stiffness was getting worse and worse though I was still able to do things. I began using trekking poles to help me walk better.

    I was in the Chinese New Year parade two years ago before the pandemic with the Chinese Railroad workers group and could barely keep up with the parade unit.

    I went to Utah for the 150th in 2019 and had a hard time walking and standing for long at the event.

    Earlier in the year in March 2022, I took a trip to New York to attend the late Fred Hom's daughter's wedding. Prior to the trip I had a bit of pain and began having a more difficult time walking. I think that was when I began realizing real pain. I was beginning to get the bone on bone pain. Though I was able to still walk a bit.

    I brought it up with the doctor and he realized how stiff my left leg has gotten and ordered x-rays. He found osteoarthritis on my left hip. A condition where the cartilage has worn down on my left hip. I was having more of a hard time walking and experiencing pain.

    The only way out of this was hip replacement surgery which I found out I was not a good candidate for such a procedure due to venous insufficiency. An operation like that would put me at risk of infection and possibly leg amputation or death if the infection got into my bones. After two opinions from orthopedic doctors I cried.

    So...I'm f'd up for the rest of my life.