Month: February 2014

  • A Short Bio for A Day in the Life of Asian America and the Asian American Studies Conference

    selfer_pch

    I have to put together a short bio for the Asian American Conference coming up in April. I'm going to be on this panel where I'm talking to academics about picturing Chinatown. I am also a part of this "a day in the life of Asian America" photography project happening in May. I will be presenting my works as a part of this panel in April too. :

    Leland Wong was born raised in San Francisco’s Chinatown. He grew up in a curio shop surrounded by colorful Asian art. His father, Suey Wing Wong’s interest in art encouraged him to pursue it.

    In addition to being an artist, Wong began his photography career while he was a junior in high school. He began at a crucial time when the Civil Rights Movement, urban riots, the Vietnam War, and strikes on college campuses were happening. Social issues were being raised in San Francisco’s Chinatown and it enabled him to view his community with a unique photographic vision.

    Wong went on to study photography at San Francisco State University where he earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree. His photography and artwork have been widely publicized and exhibited. He has taught workshops and worked with various community arts organizations. He has also traveled and photographed extensively in Asia.

    Wong continues to photograph and pursue his art. He is currently an artist in residence at the Chinese Historical Society of America.

  • a group of loupohna's

    This group of Loupohna's asked me if I can get a performance for them at the future street fairs.  They're an exercise group that does dancing at Portsmouth Square at 7pm on weekends.

    This group of Loupohna's asked me if I can get a performance for them at the future street fairs...as if I was in charge of those events. They're an exercise group that does dancing at Portsmouth Square at 7pm on weekends. I said...sure..I'll help them.

  • Page 3 Photo

    At the San Francisco Chinatown community New Year Street Fair yesterday.

    kai-ai!

    kai-ai!

    Be careful what he has under that jacket...

  • The BIG Picnic Free Poster

    DBL's big

     

    Damn man...that DBL asked me to do a free poster for his Big Picnic.

    DLB bugged the shit outta me to get this done too.  The day after he asked me he kept asking where's his poster.

    Being the sucker I am...I slapped together a poster for them.  So I just did this quickie.

    This was called the BIG picnic last year in which DBL and his group Ohana 'E expected 500 people.  They hired a lion dancing group and polynesian entertainers.  It was held in Golden Gate Park where they charged $25 a head.  They had me do potstickers.  I think in the end, they had some cash problems.

    I found out that this year Ohana 'E does not have anything with the organizing of this event and it's mainly a DBL production.  It must've been tough organizing that big one last year.

    A lot of yelling I hear....

    They're charging $10 per person and on top of the potluck.  Does it cost that much to reserve the space and get plates, napkins and charcoal?

    DLB wants me to make potstickers again like last year.  Being the sucker that I am... I obliged.

  • Drawing Dragons at Draw Me A Dragon

    lw_drawdragon400

    photos courtesy of William Lee and Ted Jang

    videos courtesy of Chris Fujimoto

    262796_737781302900375_1196310015_n

    OK...we had a fun event for the closing of my five month long first ever exhibition of all my Nihonmachi Street Fair posters at National Japanese American Historical Society's Peace Gallery. It was attended by about 12-15 people.

     

    1557725_737781019567070_338548916_n

    After the sketching, we made yakisoba and gyoza's. It was the first time I ever used yakisoba noodles. good thing Grace Horikiri and Pat Fong DeSilva stepped in to help cook because I would've messed it up for sure. I used gyoza skins too which is much thinner than the potstickers skins I've been using regularly. I used my electric skillet to do all the cooking. Other people also brought some food. We had a whole bunch of spam musubi's made my Chris Fujimoto and Jane Ma and family.

    Everyone had a good time. Food and art are always winners.

    Well...that was the official closing of the exhibition. They don't have anything else planned at the moment so it'll remain there till they decide on the next exhibt which can happen at anytime. If you still want to check out the exhibt, call them and ask.