Month: July 2013

  • testing...testing...to see if Xanga is dead?

     
    Xanga....shit...I'm still in Xanga...

     
    I thought I post something just to see if Xanga is dead or on life supports or just feigning weakness to scam $60K from us suckers. 

    I was finally able to successfully download my archives after many previous tries. 

    I don't have much faith in Xanga if they continue as a paid blogging site.  With all the free blogging sites and social network sites, why bother paying a fee just to blog with Xanga? 

    I paid $100 in 2005 to be a life member and been faithfully blogging here since.  There were many photographers here at the time.  Though I already had a Xanga account, it was Gary Fong that really got me seriously on Xanga.   There was a real community here for awhile.  There are people whom I stil keep in contact with on Facebook from those days.  Many have moved on.  Xanga's been pretty dead for a number of years now and I knew the day would come. 


    I guess as long as Xanga is still here I will continue to blog...if they suddenly pull the plug here, find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram (diarrhea_of_the_camera), I have a blogger too which I hardly touch.  Here's my page at MySpace.  I hardly use that too.  lwongphoto Flickr page.  Here's my WordPress blog.  I don't exactly how to use their system but supposedly I can upload my Xanga archive onto Word Press.

    Like the farmer who is told the world will end tomorrow and continued farming his land like any other day, I'll continue to blog here till all of a sudden the lights go out.

  • random posting....

    Where the whole book publishing business is headed... pay per download and read it with your iPad or computer.  $2 per download.  I slapped together this book cover design.  I don't think he's gonna use it.


    I was at the big picnic and cooked a couple hundred potstickers.


    I drew this caricature.  The OL saw it and tear it up.



     
    On the "Vietnamese bus headed for LA.  $45.  The ride began at 6:30 AM and arrived at the LA Chinatown Metro Station around 2pm.

    I'm as clear as mud as to Xanga staying around or folding up.

  • Me?

     

    A quick brush and ink drawing in what began as me...but it doesn't look like me.

    Took a picture of it with my iPhone5 and processed it using the Aviary app.

     
    Downloaded it off the web and colorized it in photoshop.

  • From The Mist: 30 Years of Nihonmachi Street Fair Posters

    Okay...it's on!  A solo exhibition by yours truly of all my Nihonmachi Street Fair posters.  I haven't had a solo show in many years.  In fact...I don't remember the last time I did have one.

    The exhibit begins August 1st and goes all the way to the end of January next year....sounds like a long time huh?  Five whole months!

    The last street fair poster was not screen printed...so I will have to search for the file and make a big print of it.  Or maybe I can find the 11x17 print of it...somewhere.

    Please come to the reception.   It's on the same day as the street fair.  Saturday from 4:30 to 7:30pm.


    Here's the press release:

    "FROM THE MIST"

    30 Years of Nihonmachi Street Fair Posters by Leland Wong

    The National Japanese American Historical Society (NJAHS) is pleased to present an exhibit of over 30 years of Nihonmachi Street Fair screen print poster art by Leland Wong. Entitled "From the Mist," these colorful, bold, and imaginative original works will be exhibited at the NJAHS Peace Gallery from Thursday, August 1, 2013 through Friday, January 31, 2014.

    The gallery will be open during the Street Fair weekend from August 3 & 4 from 12 noon to 5pm.

     A potluck opening reception on will be Saturday, August 3, 2013 from 4:30 to 7:30 PM. 

     Leland Wong's iconic posters have long been associated with the Nihonmachi Street Fair since its inception in 1974.  Wong’s Street Fair posters would be much anticipated by street fair goers and are now collectors’ items. A product of the 1970s and '80s, Wong brings an important iconic style to the screen print poster art of that period.  The NJAHS Peace Gallery is located at 1684 Post Street in San Francisco, CA 94115.  The hours are Monday through Friday, and the first Saturday of every month, from 12:00 to 5:00 PM.  For more information, please call: 415-921-5007 or send us an email: njahs@njahs.org

     Curator: Richard Tokeshi

    Graphic Panel: Leon Sun

    Exhibition and Collections: Max Nihei, John David Kagawa

    Program/Publicity: Peter Yamamoto, Rachel Inouye


  • Graduate

    We went down to San Diego for Louis' graduation from UCSD.

    Haven't been writing... that's because Xanga is going to bite the dust and I figure, what the hell...

    Today is the day Xanga will be shutting down. Yet I can't find any information about what will happen.  Oh well....


    Here's the Chinatown in San Diego.  Not much of a Chinatown.  No Chinese restaurant or stores.  I didn't even see a Chinese!  San Diego once had a Chinatown.  But it's now essentially dead.


    But it was nice getting together with some friends from SF for lunch at Laotown, San Diego.

    It was a high maintenance trip.